In 1951, EU countries began to cooperate in order to stabilize the economy. Today, the European Union is made up of 28 countries. Schengen countries however, is made up of 26 of these EU countries.

We only cover these 24 Countries :

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Cyprus, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Hungry, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Netherland, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, UK and Canada.

In these EU member countries there will be no discrimination between countries and citizens regardless of gender, race, nationality, religion, sexual orientation, or age. People are granted integrity and human dignity as well as equality between genders. The EU offers the freedom of conscience and expression as well as the right to strike, and vote. The EU also allows for the right for workers to be consulted with and informed. It also offers the right to environmental protection and advocates the rights of children and the elderly. EU member citizens have the right to reconcile professional and family life, as well as the right to social security, health care, social assistance, and data protection.
Regardless of profession or other circumstances, an EU national is allowed to stay in any EU country and the right to visit any EU countries as desired. Regardless of nationality, immediate family has the right to go with EU nationals to accompany an individual and live with them in another EU country. Individuals are entitled to move all of their belongings when they move to a different EU country without paying duties or being taxed. Individuals have the right to retire in any EU country that they have worked in even if self-employed. If an individual is unemployed, the person is allowed to go to any country in the EU to search for a job. If there is any decision that an EU national feels is incorrect, an individual may formally complain to the European Parliament, the European Commission, or the European Ombudsman.



There are many EU immigration benefits within the European Union. Some of these include becoming a citizen or a resident of any country within the European Union.

One benefit of being a citizen within one of the EU countries is that EU policy states that regulations and laws are applicable to any of the other EU countries that a person decides to live or work in. The European Court of Justice is the judicial system that oversees the treaties of the EU. It allows for the interpretation of agreements between the EU countries, and even some of the non EU countries in order to create a bilateral interpretation of the laws.
Any person who becomes a citizen in any of the 28 countries that make up the European Union instantly also is granted citizenship within the EU. While it is not separate from national citizenship, it does take precedence and also allows individuals to have rights in any of the 28 EU countries. For example, a citizen in Poland who has moved and retired to Spain can vote where they reside.
Voting in European elections; A right to vote and stand in elections to the European Parliament, in any EU member state
Voting in municipal elections; A right to vote and stand in local elections in an EU state other than their own, under the same conditions as the nationals of that state
Accessing European government documents; A right to access to European Parliament, Council, and Commission documents
Petitioning Parliament and the Ombudsman; The right to petition the European Parliament and the right to apply to the European Ombudsman in order to bring to his attention any cases of poor administration by the EU institutions and bodies, with the exception of the legal bodies
Language rights; The right to apply to the EU institutions in one of the official languages and to receive a reply in that same language
Rights of free movement; Right to free movement and residence: a right of free movement and residence throughout the Union and the right to work in any position (including national civil services with the exception of those posts in the public sector that involve the exercise of powers conferred by public law and the safeguard of general interests of the State or local authorities for which however there is no one single definition)
Freedom from discrimination on nationality; A right not to be discriminated against on grounds of nationality within the scope of application of the Treaty
Rights abroad; Right to consular protection: a right to protection by the diplomatic or consular authorities of other Member States when in a non-EU Member State, if there are no diplomatic or consular authorities from the citizen’s own state: this is due to the fact that not all member states maintain embassies in every country in the world (15 countries have only one embassy from an EU state)


                                                       norway    switzerland
European countries that are not in the European Union are considered to not be a member state of the EU and are referred to as non EU countries. Norway is not a part of the EU but is a member of the Schengen Treaty. Switzerland is also not part of the EU and is a country that is independent and remains neutral. It has its own set of procedures in regards to immigration and obtaining individual visas.
Various countries are part of the Schengen treaty and part of the EU and vice versa. Switzerland is not a member of the EU There are 26 countries that are part of the Schengen Visa list which allows for the elimination of passports and immigration control at their conjoining borders which encourages international freedom to travel.
While some of these countries are not members of the European Union, it is thought to be because they already are economically strong. With their economic strength, they are able to maintain their own independence without being officially part of the EU.



There are countries who still wants to join the EU. The process is long and many requirements must be met to join. The countries that are current candidates and are in negotiations to join the EU are: Albania, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Iceland, Montenegro, Serbia and Turkey. Potential candidates who has been promised negotiations when they are ready, are: Bosnia and Herzegovina and Kosovo.



  • Always double check the validity of your travel documents.
  • There are no EU wide rules or policies that govern lost or invalid identity documentation.
  • Look for assistance at the Embassy or Consulate in the country you find yourself in
  • Always explain your entire route when discussing issues with any Embassy or Consulate for appropriate assistance
                   images-3    email-us-icon   eu-passport-for-sale


An EU citizen can generally apply for jobs in any EU country under the same conditions as a local citizen. Work permits are not required, but certificates required for some works are not universally accepted. Only Croatian citizens still face restrictions in some EU member countries.

Accessing social security benefits may depend on the length of time that you have worked in that country. EU/EEA citizens usually get the local social security – and lose the domestic – at the moment they start working, but there are exceptions.

error: Content is protected !!